Advisory Team on Government Policies and Practices

<u>Process</u>: The seven City Council members reviewed all applications and nominations received from the public and also reached out to others who may not have been in the applications and nominations. Each Council member then made a list of recommendations to the mayor and included his/her very top choice. The mayor was required to pick at least one person from each Council member's list. The mayor picked the top choice from each of the seven Council members to fill seven seats on the team.

Next, the mayor's Selection Committee read through the nominations and applications for those who were named to the team already (through Council recommendation) and the remaining applications and nominations. The Selection Committee met as a group, together with the mayor, to go through a consensus process to choose the remaining five team members and alternates. The lists are below.

Advisory Team Members (in alphabetical order)

Steve Blaine

Juan DeLaFuente

Alexis DeVries

Michael Holmes

Sara Kern

Cory Koplin

Doug Larsen

Samantha Malcom

Liz Magill

Yadira Ramos

Cholwe Walker

Thomas D. Young

Alternates

Marvin Bradford

Yaneth Santiago Huerta

Racheal Savage

Selection Committee

Mayor Dowse chose five community members for his Selection Committee to assist in selecting a portion of Advisory Team members. The Selection Committee has the following characteristics:

- * Consists of people who regularly interact with multiple facets of the community, including resident groups who are often under-represented
- * Provides representation of one former law enforcement professional
- * Includes people who have demonstrated the ability to work as a team and find consensus
- * Involves people who approach this work through an equity lens

To avoid conflict of interest, Selection Team members were either not in the pool of those who applied or were nominated, or they chose to not participate as a Task Force member.

Selection Committee Members

- --Gene Grave. Gene was a Red Wing Police Officer for 31 years, including 12 years as a sargeant. Gene now works at the Red Wing Public Library where he still assists community members on a daily basis.
- --Rayanna Lennes. Rayanna is the Prairie Island Indian Community

 Communications Manager and is a member of the Prairie Island Indian Community.
- --Jennie Wendland. Jennie is co-founder and Executive Director of Disability Support International (DSI) and is a Red Wing Human Rights Commissioner.
- --Temeka Wirkkala. Temeka is a community advocate and facilitator who works with parents, families, and community organizations to enrich lives and find ways to reach more equitable outcomes for Red Wing families.
- --Jeimmy Yusty Rojas. Jeimmy is the Culture Liaison for the Goodhue County Education District who works with students and families across Red Wing and the county. Jeimmy is also a Red Wing Human Rights Commissioner.
- --Sean Dowse. Sean is the mayor of Red Wing.

The Selection Committee used the following criteria to help inform its choices, though this list was not definitive in the committee's decision-making.

Selection Committee Criteria to Assist in Choosing Members

- --Person offers a unique perspective.
- --Person listens, identifies as, understands, or works with an under-represented group.
- --Person has valued skill(s) that will be helpful in this team.
- --Person has shown they want to work as a team that can have a range of differing opinions.
- --Person has not been very involved in the past with government bodies.
- --Person helps create a diverse group of people as a whole.